Friday Favorites

I never really listened to anything from Juliana Hatfield before I copped a promo copy of God Bless The Blake Babies at work back in ’01.  I’ve learned since that she was a big hit with college radio in the early 90’s.  Oh, THAT explains it.  In the early 90’s, I was living in northwest FL, nowhere near a college radio station, and it was the dark days before internet radio opened my ears to new frontiers.   Anyway, that promo Blake Babies disc sparked my interest in both Hatfield and Evan Dando.

I love her voice.  Sure, it may be kind of thin (as is that of Laura Veirs,) but it appeals to me.  It’s sweet and seems so personal and intimate, and that works so well with confessional writing style.

Juliana’s site boasts: “Peace & Love was composed, arranged, performed, produced, engineered, and mixed by Juliana Hatfield.”  She’s even written track by track notes for the album, so this is totally hers.  You really can’t get much more personal than that.

I have yet to hear the entire album, but I did love the song Dear Anonymous, included in the latest Paste magazine sampler.  I’d say the song would not be out of place on an Elliott Smith (dear, departed Elliott Smith) release.   I love the lyric “Dear Anonymous, do you think the sun shines on everyone but you?”  When you read comments on Facebook or YouTube, you know exactly what she’s talking about.

Juliana Hatfield

Dear Anonymous

For Lyndon’s music 365 project

One thought on “Friday Favorites

  1. music obsessive 10.22.10 / 9:40 am

    Love Juliana Hatfield, she’s always been a favourite of mine. Really can’t understand why she is not a bigger star. Fav LPs would be ‘Hey Babe’ and the rockier ‘Become What you Are’, although the acoustic half of the Beautiful Creature/Juliana’s Pony has some stunning songs on it.

    Like a lot of ‘second division’ acts, it just means she tries harder. Great stuff!

Leave a Reply

