Friday Favorites

Josh Ritter

Since 2001’s Golden Age Of Radio, Josh Ritter has been releasing one critically acclaimed album after another, culminating with the superb, if quizzically named, 2007 album, The Historical Conquests of Josh Ritter. I can’t even begin to count the reviews which would include him in the “next Bob Dylan” category.  (But I do get it.  His style is similar, but Ritter’s voice is much easier on the ears, if you ask me.)

I’ll be catching a Ritter show for the first time this May,  and I’m pretty excited, so I have to get out all of his cds and start putting them back in rotation in the car, where I listen to my cds most often.  I’m fully expecting some eye rolling and some requests, such as “What the heck is this?” or “Can you turn on something else?”  Not everyone who rides shotgun likes modern folkies.  My rules is “my car, my tunes,” and it’s not universally loved.  OH WELL!

Ritter’s new cd, So Runs The World Away, is out on vinyl in the US on April 17, but the cd is out on May 4.  I already copped the free advance download of Change Of Time by visiting there, and I recommend checking it out.

I love this line from one of my favorite songs from The Animal Years:

I’m looking for some peace
but it’s so hard to find
with Calamity Janes and the Steamboat Casanovas
and Darling Clementines

Ain’t it?

Bright Smile

Leave a Reply

