Milestone Monday

First Song I Remember Hating

I’m easy to please, and I have always been so, if I can believe my what my mom tells me.  I didn’t balk too much when my dad played country music (ewwww) on his stereo, or even when he put on a Liberace record, unless he played it incessantly on a weekend.  Like a good daughter, I’d roll my eyes and chide him with a “Not thaaaaat, Dad!”  Thankfully, that didn’t happen often, since he usually disappeared into some self-assigned dad projects and took his portable radio along to listen to a game or Indy racing or something like that.  When I was 10, though, a song hit the charts that sent me scrambling for the radio dial every time it came on.  Needless to say, it doesn’t reside on my iPod and never will.

I didn’t always hate the song.  At first, it was kind of funny and I liked the danceable beat and I loved the horns.  (In fact, if you could leave the vocal track out of this song and change the lyrics, I think I could love this song.) Still, it was all over the radio, back in the days when hits got played about once an hour. (Do they still do that? I don’t listen to any Top 40 stations these days, so I don’t know.)

As a kid, what I didn’t know is that John Fred wrote this song as a parody of Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds.  It’s so apparent now, with the spacey-weird lyrics like “cantalope eyes come to me tonight” and a title that mimics the flow of the original.  Maybe it inspired a young Weird Al to write songs in the same comic vein, so, for that I am grateful.  But I am glad that John Fred & His Playboy Band were one-hit wonders, and didn’t stick around to record more parodies like this one.

I had to seek this out to download, so I could share the song, since there’s no way I own it.  Hey, if I can listen, so can you.  Actually, I’m kind of dancing to it and ignoring the lyrics.

Judy In Disguise (With Glasses)

6 thoughts on “Milestone Monday

  1. Mrs.R 03.29.10 / 5:35 pm

    Thats a classic. I had no idea it was a parody.

  2. agedhipster 03.29.10 / 7:58 pm

    I didn’t know it until I read about it whilst researching Beatles tunes as an adult. I thought, “DUH. Of course!”
    Thanks for commenting, Mrs. R? What, no comments about dad’s radio? tee hee.

  3. Holly A Hughes 03.30.10 / 4:22 am

    Oh, god, I’ve been trying for years to forget that awful song!!! Actually, as much as Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds, it reminds me of Spirit in the Sky. Is it possible to parody two completely different songs at one and the same time?

    I do like the image of a young, skinny, geeky Al Yankowitz listening to this on the radio and thinking to himself, “Hmmmmmmm….”

    • agedhipster 03.31.10 / 12:22 pm

      I see I’m not the only hater!
      Funny, the more I play it now, the more I’m diggin’ the music parts. I like the “come to me tonight,” too, but that living bra thing…uhhhhhhgh.

  4. whiteray 03.31.10 / 2:54 am

    To me, this tune is junior high: standing along the wall with the rest of the guys, all of us watching the girls dance with each other. I won’t say I seek the record out, but it’s not intolerable when it pops up on the player. (The fact that it’s in the player says that I did seek it out once. Maybe I was thinking of girls dancing.) Nice blog, by the way.

    • agedhipster 03.31.10 / 12:23 pm

      Thanks, whiteray. I think I might end up putting it in my player if I have a 60’s party!

Leave a Reply

