Friday Favorites

The Plimsouls

I could still kick myself for never traveling north from San Diego to LA to see The Plimsouls  in the clubs back in the early 80’s.  KROQ and KLOS played their records quite a bit, and I loved every song I heard.  Unfortunately, my crazy USN hours conflicted with crazy LA club scene hours, even if I didn’t include the drive time, so I never made the trip. (What did Twain say about being more disappointed by the things we didn’t do rather than the things we did do?)

I got a huge kick out of it when the band performed as themselves in the Valley Girl movie, which was otherwise rather blah teen fare.   I found the clip on YouTubePeter Case introduces “A Million Miles Away!”  Funny, the band looks timeless, but the club-goers definitely look dated!  I mean, Nicholas Cage‘s hair….yeesh!  Love the clothes, too.

So here’s one of my favorite 80’s bands–The Plimsouls!

A Million Miles Away

I’ll Get Lucky

One thought on “Friday Favorites

  1. Holly A Hughes 04.09.10 / 5:35 pm

    Yet another band I keep promising myself to learn more about. All the hipsters seem to love ’em. Someone really cool once sent me three of their songs and I thought they were immensely fun. So many bands, so little time…

Leave a Reply

