Wayback Wednesday

The Yardbirds – Stroll On

From the get-go, I’m telling you, “Yes, you have heard this before.”

Indeed, you have, and it was known as Train Kept A-Rollin.  Remember Aerosmith‘s smokin’ cover of this song? Well, I’m here to tell you that it pales in comparison to Stroll On.

Stroll On was recorded for Antonioni’s film, Blowup, with a new title and lyrics to avoid copyright infringement.  These days that wouldn’t fly, as there have been lawsuits over musical similarities in songs, and sometimes the similarities seem like a stretch.  This one’s an obvious note-for-note duplicate.

This semi-masked version of Train Kept A-Rollin,  with an impressive guitar break featuring both Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page,  tops my list of covers of that song, although the rockabilly Johnny Burnette version makes me want to get up and dance.  When I hear Stroll On, I find myself wanting to screech out “train kept a-rollin all night long” when they hit the chorus.  It just fits better with the music, which kind of illustrates the chugga-chugga of a train rollin’ on down the track.

The Yardbirds – Stroll On

3 thoughts on “Wayback Wednesday

  1. Lyndon 05.12.10 / 6:49 pm

    That was very cool. Reminded me of when Rock, actually sounded like Rock and bands didn’t need to use cheesy gimmicks like Auto-Tune!!

    P.S. Like the new look of the site 🙂

  2. Holly A Hughes 05.12.10 / 8:19 pm

    I sure did love that delicious Antonioni movie. I don’t recall this song, but you’re right, the minute I hear it I visualize scenes from the film.

Leave a Reply

