Wayback Wednesday

The Outsiders – Time Won’t Let Me

“I can’t wait forever” is a phrase that might be out of step with the 2010 world. I mean, we can’t even wait for seconds in this day of instant communication. “Look, I just did this,” we say; then we post a picture of it on Facebook or tweet about it.  We all seem so interested in what everyone else is doing right freaking now! Have we lost our collective patience?

I remember taking pictures, waiting until the roll was completely used, taking it in for developing, and getting the photos back a week later. Sometimes the photos in the beginning of a roll I shot were months old.  Now our digital photos can be instantly uploaded to a multitude of sharing sites for all to see, and sometimes that’s not such a good thing.  Lots of people can see an unflattering shot before you get a chance to untag it, and the damage is done.

Writing out our thoughts on paper is a dying art.  We’d rather type and send them immediately, and we want our responses right away, too. Too often, we hit send before we reread, edit, or rethink.  Oh, the regrets of  the email age.

Some seek instant fame with YouTube videos, though we soon forget most of them just as quickly.  I can’t remember what the Star Wars Kid looks like, can you?

Longing for the old days might out me as a sentimental fogey, but so be it; I miss the slower pace of the pre-Instant Age.   Maybe we will revert when satellites start dropping out of the sky or when we get tired of knowing everything about everyone else.  I could wait it out, but I don’t think time’s going to let me.

Time Won’t Let Me

5 thoughts on “Wayback Wednesday

  1. Paula 06.23.10 / 9:27 am

    Nice post. I know exactly what you mean about the photos — made it kind of fun to wait really. Looking through the photos was an event in itself, but now it’s a big nothing. Photos are meaningless … we take hundreds all the time, there’s no film to waste, no cost, we click through them all in a few seconds, done. Grandma probably is online, so she gets a few in email. Whatever happened to putting a nice one in a frame? Oh, who can be bothered with that!

    • agedhipster 06.23.10 / 11:48 am

      I still put some in frames, but I have to do all of that editing, cropping, and then print. In other words, I have to force myself to sit down at the computer and actually work!

  2. Holly A Hughes 06.24.10 / 10:59 pm

    Or how about waiting for the answer to a trivia question until it finally “came” to you, instead of immediately googling it? Or listening carefully to a song so you could write down the lyrics, instead of zipping to some lyrics site and getting a set of lyrics typed in by some more or less illiterate person?

    I will also snail mail you a copy of my comment, written out in longhand, if you like.

    • Agedhipster 06.25.10 / 9:41 am

      Those lyrics sites are hilarious, don’t you think? Who actually believes those are all bona fide lyrics? 12 year olds?

  3. barelyawakeinfrogpajamas 06.25.10 / 9:16 pm

    Well said.

Leave a Reply

