Wayback Wednesday

I’ve gone months without hearing even one word about rock and roll elders, The Rolling Stones, but this week I’ve heard them mentioned twice.  They must be calling to me, subliminally implanting the idea to be included in Wayback Wednesday.  YA THINK?

Frontman Mick recently celebrated his 70th birthday, and, according to this article, the band is possibly planning an upcoming tour.  A FREAKING TOUR. Can you imagine the sheer numbers of vitamins and other stimulants those guys will have to pop to survive that road trip?  I mean, I’m all for the elderly staying active and vital, but these guys are not your typical grandpas.  They were known for tour excesses, and I’m sure that took its toll on their bodies.  There’s a reason Keith Richards was chosen to play Depp’s dad in those pirate movies, and it wasn’t cuz he was super cute.

Who’s going to plop down big bucks to see these guys anyway? You know it’ll be big bucks, and they are far, far past their prime.

Way back when I was young-un,  there were Beatles people and there were Stones people, and I always camped in the Beatles tent.  This is not to say that I despised the Stones, but they just didn’t appeal to me as much, so, of course, my Stones collection is teensy.  In fact, I own no albums at all.  SHOCKER.  I did own some cassettes, which are now dead to me. (Both my tape player and my turntable remain in working order, but unattached to the stereo system in my basement.)  I have laced my mp3 collection with some Stones tunes by borrowing cds from my town’s library and ripping a smattering of favorite tunes, even though the legality of such action may be questionable.

For our wayback trip today, we’ll visit an early cut from 1964, a cover of Willie Dixon’s blues classic, I Just Want To Make Love To You, which sped up the slow tempo of previously recorded versions of the song, followed by one of my favorite Stones tunes, Brown Sugar, from 1971’s Sticky Fingers album.   Enjoy the ride!

Now take your vitamins, so you can keep up with Mick and the gang.

I Just Want To Make Love To You

Brown Sugar

8 thoughts on “Wayback Wednesday

  1. Paula 07.28.10 / 10:10 am

    I love old Stones, but I would not want to see these geezers in concert, yuck! Beatles have so much more variety, would have to pick them if forced to choose. 🙂

    • agedhipster 07.28.10 / 10:27 am

      ITA, Paula. I cannot imagine Mick’s prancing in tight jeans. Ish.

      • Holly A Hughes 07.28.10 / 10:43 am

        Tight jeans? How about clingy spandex? And you just know he’ll take off his shirt at some point, revealing his bony chest and stringy biceps.

        But despite the Beatles-Stones divide — which was such a real thing, I did not dare buy any Stones albums until 1973 — I now enjoy the early Stones. Especially when they were doing blues covers, before Andrew Loog Oldham locked Mick and Keith in a room and forced them to begin song writing. So thanks for I Just Want To Make Love to You!

  2. agedhipster 07.28.10 / 11:07 am

    Holly, I dare not picture Mick in spandex, as my brain will totally melt out of my ears.

    I do love early Stones now, especially the raw-sounding blues covers. THis is why I’ve been seeking out Stones cds at the library.

    I own “Shine A Light,” which was one of my last freebie grabs before I quit working at Borders. It’s a live one, and it’s pretty “meh.” I don’t see why anyone would put out megabucks to see them live in 2010.

  3. Dane 08.14.10 / 10:23 pm

    Thanks for the Brown Sugar! Strangely, I didn’t have that one on the hard drive. I’m more of a Beatles fan than a Stones fan, but I do love ’em both.

  4. luminousmuse 08.24.10 / 12:56 pm

    I was always a Beatles guy. Liked the early Stones around Satisfaction time when I was 15. Especially liked “Ruby Tuesday.”

    Brown Sugar was OK til I played it in a band for 2 years. Enough’s enough.
    Speaking of which, those geezers oughta get a life, already! Don’t know about too young to die, but they’re definitely too old to rock and rol.

    • agedhipster 09.21.10 / 10:46 am

      Amen, man, amen. They need to pack away the amps and enjoy their grandkids. 🙂

  5. music obsessive 10.22.10 / 8:42 am

    Hi – Just dropped in from Luminous Muse. Interesting Blog (i’ve just linked to you), even if I do take issue with you over Lady Gaga!

    Always been in the Beatles tent as to tell the truth, The Stones always scared me a bit as a youngster. Like you, I owned nothing until I weakened and bought a ‘Best Of’ collection. I refuse to buy anything else as their pension fund is quite big enough.

Leave a Reply

