Best of 2011

Should I pretend it’s not been since April that I’ve posted? Let’s do, ok?

The Contrast Podcast marches on, and the annual Festive Fifty countdown is underway. My favorite song of the year, Kurt Vile’s “Jesus Fever” came in at number 43 and I am not surprised at all. It’s not a song everyone would relish and it’s one of those laid-back tunes you can listen to while you do the dishes. (Believe me, I have done this.)

I submitted quite a few songs in the first round of picks for this countdown, and they are not in any order. In addition, I discovered some unheard tunes when the final list of songs had been compliled and we chose our favorite ten. That’s always the fun part, since there’s no way in hell I”m going to hear everything.

These are the songs I loved most from 2011:
Ron Sexsmith – Late Bloomer
The Decemberists – Down By the Water
The Decemberists – Don’t Carry It All
Washed Out – Amor Fati
Scars On 45 – Give Me Something
R.E.M. – Discoverer
Real Estate – It’s Real
Noah and The Whale – Tonight’s The Kind of Night
Amos Lee – WIndows are Rolled Down
Amos Lee – Flower
Glasvegas – Euphoria, Take My Hand
Adele – Rolling in the Deep
Noah and The Whale – Life Is Life
Pains of Being Pure At Heart – Heart In Your Heartbreak
Dawes – Time Spent In Los Angeles
Fitz & The Tantrums – Breakin’ The Chains Of Love
Kathleen Edwards – Change the Sheets
Ron Sexsmith – Believe It When I See It
Foster the People – Helena Beat
Girls – Honey Bunny
The Vaccines – Post Break-Up Sex
R.E.M. – Uberlin
Wilco – I Might
Wilco – Whole Love
The Crystal Stilts – Shake the Shackles
Wye Oak – Holy Holy
The Jayhawks – She Walks In So Many Ways
R.E.M. – Blue
Minus the Bear – Hold Me Down
The Kills – DNA
Wilco – I Love My Label
Kurt Vile – Jesus Fever
Built Like Alaska – The Saint Is Here
Fleet Foxes – Montezuma
Said The Whale – Sandy Bay Fishing Song
Toro Y Moi – Low Shoulder
Feist – How Come You Never Go There
PJ Harvey – The Last Living Rose
Cage The Elephant – Shake Me Down
Local Natives – World News
Dawes – A Little Bit of Everything

What were your favorites of 2011?

2 thoughts on “Best of 2011

  1. Lyndon 01.04.12 / 4:08 pm

    This list reminds me, why were online friends. I’ve had so many of these on my blog during last year!! I’d probably add the Civil Wars – Barton Hollow, although I don’t think you can wrong with anything from that particular album.

    Sadly, I didn’t make a year end list for 2011; too lazy ๐Ÿ˜€

    • agedhipster 01.04.12 / 4:21 pm

      Yeah, it’s been JUST TOO LONG since I blogged or read blogs. FB and family tree research took up the entire year of 2011. I will check out Civil Wars, as I have not heard that one yet. Thanks, Lyndon.

Leave a Reply

