New Music This Week

I have been remiss in presenting the new music lately, I know, and I apologize. BUT THIS WEEK, OMG.

Pick of the Week

Cyndi Lauper – Detour

New Cyndi Lauper and it is the twangy version of Cyndi, all dressed up with duets and everything.  I have not heard the disc in its entirety yet and allmusic critics (bless their hearts) have slapped three stars on it, while users appreciate it a bit more.  Be your own judge. Here’s “Funnel Of Love,” written by Charlie McCoy and Kent Westberry.

Notable

Julianna Barwick – Will  Great yoga workout music! Hey, we NEED that. Actually, I’m doing the talented Julianna a disservice by saying that, but her music is just so calming.

The Rides – Pierced Arrow  Stephen Stills, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, and Barry Goldberg are at it again, and I dig it. They don’t have a video for a single from the new album, but here’s their promo for the new album. Guitar-centric rocking blues. YES.

Mary Chapin Carpenter – The Things That We Are Made Of   I have to admit: it’s been awhile since I bought a Mary Chapin Carpenter record, but I’ve always loved her soothing voice and intelligent songs.  (Did you know she’s Harry Chapin’s fifth cousin? OMG, be still my genealogical heart.)

Joanna Brouk – Aurora  A composer of ambient music (more yoga!) and an early electronics pioneer. This recording is a compilation of her work. Beautiful.

The Posies – Solid States You didn’t know they were still out there? Neither did I!

Moreland & Arbuckle – Promised Land Or Bust This is ass-kickin’.

Goo Goo Dolls – Boxes I really like this  poppy song.

That wraps it up for this week.

Love and kisses to all, especially all of the moms. Happy Mother’s Day!

2 thoughts on “New Music This Week

  1. Paula Light 05.07.16 / 11:08 pm

    She’s still so WEIRD. I liked this a lot, but… funnel? FUNNEL? Like a funnel cake? Wot? Actually I kept thinking about making coffee while listening to this…

  2. agedhipster 05.08.16 / 8:25 pm

    hahaha. RIGHt? I guess because “Tunnel of Love” has already been done?

Leave a Reply

